The Pavelka Project 2015 and me #firstpost

Hi. Welcome to Fanciful Allure! I am so excited to start sharing creations and ideas and maybe a few tutorials, with you here on my brand new website/blog.

I am currently participating in Katie Oskin’s and Lisa Pavelka’s year-long The Pavelka Project 2015 challenge.First I need to give credit to these two wonderfully generous ladies for offering this FREE learning experience.

You can find Katie on Kater’s Acres: http://katersacres.com

Lisa Pavelka at her site: http://store.lisapavelka.com

As promised in my About page I want to share what we’ve done so far. But before I do, if you’d like to join us for a monthly project challenge through all of 2015, you can sign up here: http://katersacres.com/pavelka-project/pavelka-project-sign/ We’d love to see your clay projects and talent!

In January we were challenged to make a Suspended Crystal Snowflake. I’m not sure how I feel about mine, but I completed the challenge so I am happy about that. I decided to make mine a pendant.

Pavelka Project- Jan. challenge- Suspended Crystal Snowflake
Pavelka Project 2015- Jan. challenge-Suspended Crystal Snowflake

Sorry about the foggy picture. I forgot to wipe the camera lens. Once I get my new camera box put together, I’ll take new pics.

January had a second, mini project we were challenged with. Lisa Pavelka is addicted to Carmex lip balm toppers. She actually made one a day for a year in 2012. I don’t know about you, but I’m in awe of her ability to think up 365 different designs! But she did and you can check them out here.

So she and Katie challenged those in the project to make a Carmex topper with a Valentine’s Day theme. I think I did ok for my first one. What do you think?

Jan. Carmex lidRim

Then, in February we were challenged to make a clock. How fun does that sound? It was suggested by both Lisa and Katie in their tutorials to use a CD. I never would have thought of that but it worked (once I remembered not to overcook the plastic disc lol). Here’s my second attempt. I didn’t think to photograph the warped first one. 🙂 Yes, this actually is a working clock.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAI can’t wait to begin March’s project tomorrow! We’ll be making something with faux techniques. Katie hasn’t shared just what yet. 🙂

I hope you’ll check back in March to see what I make. In the meantime, I’ll be posting some of my other clay and bead work.

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you’ll return. While you’re here, feel free to let me know what you think of these projects in comments. 🙂

~Lisa~

Thanks for your comments and conversation!

